Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

Happy New Day!

with 2 comments

I made a commitment not to treat New Year’s Eve/Day as a special day. Don’t get me wrong, I celebrated with my family as per tradition – I’ll take any excuse for a celebration. I just didn’t plan on making any life changing resolutions specifically for the new year.

What do I have against resolutions for self improvement? Nothing. In fact, I think committing to improve oneself is a great concept. But if making goals once a year is a good thing, then setting goals more than once a year is even better. In this case, more is better.

And it isn’t just the setting of goals that is important, it is the commitment. By associating the commitment with the new year people will often give up as soon as they notice that they’ve failed to follow through. It’s like they’ve missed their window of opportunity and the spell has been broken. I suggest that we associate commitment to failing. If we make a habit of making resolutions whenever we fail then we give ourselves a chance to start over.

Another thing to remember is that when you set goals on a specific day this is based on your world on that day. Unfortunately the world is not a static place. It moves and it changes. You met set a target but that target may decide to make a run for it. You constantly have to reassess where you are in relation to your goals and their relative importance to you. You may commit to working out 3 days a week and then find that your child is in a play on one of those days, well … you have to make compromises.

So go ahead and make your commitments and start working on your goals. Just remember that if you slip and fall, you don’t have to wait for 2013 to stand up again.

Hope for the New Year

I do have high hopes for 2012. I’m not just being optimistic – I believe we are ripe for big changes. I knew when 2011 started that it was going to be a challenging year but before any big change there has to be a shake-up.

I think the best things about 2011 is the notion that we can do better. And we can do better, not just as individuals but as an global community. I’m a citizen of the United States but I also consider myself a citizen of the world. In the past few years, I’ve been seeing a shift in how the average person feels about people in other countries.

When miners in Chile became trapped people in my office were acting as if this was occurring in the next town and we all cheered when they made it out.

When the earthquake hit Haiti, there were very few who didn’t shed a tear and give what they could.

When Japan suffered both an earthquake and tsunami the outpouring of support and sympathy was overwhelming.

No longer does our compassion end at country borders.

The year 2011 brought us challenges and turbulence but is also gave us hope for a better future.

For that I’m thankful.

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

January 1, 2012 at 8:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am happy that the New Year causes so many people to reflect upon where they are and make a commitment to improving themselves. You are completely correct that this cannot be a once a year assessment. If you are trying to lose weight then you will likely lose a little and then become distracted by other things in life. Write your goals down and post them on your mirror. Everyday consider what you can do today to make those goals a reality.

    Happy New Year Tim!

    Manage Better Now

    January 1, 2012 at 12:13 pm

  2. I was at a dinner party last night for New Years eve, and one guy said “Good riddance, 2011!” He was so negative on how little “good” had taken place in the world. But that is all a matter of perspective. I wonder how much he did to make it better? I wonder how much he will do in 2012, or if it will all seem the same to him? I appreciate your positive and optimistic outlook here.

    shrinkingthecamel

    January 1, 2012 at 6:19 pm


Leave a Reply

