Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

Productive Disagreements

with 2 comments

I love a good argument. A healthy argument is when both participants have an opportunity to gain a new perspective. It is the person who loses an argument that gains the most. By losing an argument they’ve gained new knowledge. The winner of the argument only gains confirmation of what they’ve already known.

If I were to state that loud music was a good way to toughen the ears and prevent future hearing loss it would be a beneficial for someone to disagree with me prove that loud music actually causes hearing loss. I would have learned something new and have a chance to modify my behavior to preserve my hearing.

Some people will stand by their opinions in spite of valid arguments with proof that is contrary to their opinions. For them winning the argument is more important than being right. A person who refuses to concede an argument is doomed to live a life full with mistaken certainties and false assumptions.

On the other hand it is a crime to concede an argument without stating your case. When someone let’s me win an argument without putting up a fight I often will take their side and help them argue a against my opinion. In some cases they will try to defend my opinion and explain why they were so quick to concede the argument. I remember one situation where someone presented insights to my opinion that I hadn’t considered myself.

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

January 3, 2012 at 6:35 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The best ideas that I have ever seen implemented were born out of conflict. Be polite and professional, but a passionate heated discussion gets the blood flowing and stimulates new ideas. I welcome conflict, but you have to make sure everyone leaves the meeting as friends (or at least as close to it as they were before the meeting).

    Manage Better Now

    January 5, 2012 at 11:02 am

  2. […] a recent article I discussed the value of a good argument that received an interesting response from another blogger […]


Leave a Reply

