Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

Treasure Different Viewpoints

with 3 comments

I maintain a list of blogs that I read on a regular basis. On that list are some blogs that I don’t enjoy or agree with (Don’t worry it is not yours). I make it an effort to read these counter blogs as often as I can. I do this so that I am not viewing the world through the I-agree-with-everything-you-say goggles.

It takes great courage to think outside of your beliefs. There is a fear that if you consider other opinions that you may lose hold of your beliefs. Don’t let that stop you. If you have a belief that can’t stand scrutiny than that is not a belief, it is an illusion. You want to examine those illusions and eliminate them.

For example, some believe that most people are evil and/or stupid. They will have blogs where they rant on about the ills of society and people in general. Nowhere in their minds are they ready to consider that they are an example of what they most despise.

I believe everyone is basically good and that only 50% of the population is below average in intelligence. This belief that I have is somewhat of a blind spot that may make me miss the evil intentions of others. By reading counter blogs I get to see things from a different perspective and maybe gain insight that I would not have on my own or by reading other blogs with positive outlooks.

I’m not just talking about different opinions, I’m also referring to different tastes. I don’t care for fashion or sports but I’ll occasionally read article related to those topics. (I have yet to find a blog devoted to both fashion and sports but I’m still looking).

To grow you have to step outside of your comfort zone. If someone thinks different from you, that is a goldmine of varying perspectives. Don’t pass it by.

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

February 5, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Posted in Learning, Life, People, Thoughts

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great blog post… There is so much knowledge to be gained by learning from someone who has a different view point than our own. The key is to be open to listening, which is often an overlooked communication skill.

  2. I have always preached that you can learn something from just about anyone. The worst boss can still teach you a lot about characteristics that you may not want to adopt when you become a boss. Likewise, some less than ambitious employees have taught me shortcuts in processing that I might have never found otherwise.
    It is difficult to learn a lot from people that think just like you. Truly listening to someone and trying to put yourself in their shoes is the key to learning more about yourself. You don’t know what you don’t know.

    Great post Tim!

    Manage Better Now

    February 6, 2012 at 1:38 pm


Leave a Reply

