Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

Avoiding Hard Work Takes Too Much Effort

leave a comment »

Laziness takes more energy at work than it does to commit to doing a good job and giving it your all. I have to admit there were days when I would go to work with the intention of just putting in my time for they day and extending as little effort as possible. When work was slow there would be few that would blame me. Why not take it easy when you have the opportunity?

Unfortunately, it doesn’t work out that way. After a day of accomplishing nothing I would go home feeling like I accomplished nothing. It’s against human nature to do nothing. There’s nothing wrong with taking a nap, or meditating or just relaxing at home – when you do that you are actively pursuing a goal of relaxation. But, just sitting around, waiting for 5 PM, is a degrading experience that can lower your self-esteem.

What I’ve learned is that it is during those slow periods that the most important work gets done. This is time you can finally work on that idea that had been brewing in the back of your mind. Or you may spend some time, addressing low priority issues that you never had time for before.  Pitch that idea to your boss, rearrange your work space, clean up your inbox, research aspects of your company’s business that you know little about. Whatever you do during this time will feel more rewarding because it was something you chose to do and not something pushed on you when you are already maxed out.

Idleness is a bad habit to pick up. If you do it long enough, you will find it very difficult to get back into hard work. Always keep a few “Someday/Maybe” items on the back burner that you can work on when there is a lull in activity. I find that I am happiest when I’m constantly working towards a goal. Even when waiting at the dentist office I’ll review my active task on my smart phone. You may think that would lead to stress but by always being on top of things I actually maintain a relaxed state. It’s when I let things slip or don’t follow through on something, that my stress level increases.

The key is to maintain a state of relaxed productivity and avoid getting into crisis mode.

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

February 24, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Posted in Life, People, Productivity

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

