Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

Physical Fitness is a Life Enhancer

leave a comment »

My grandmother, who would have been considered morbidly obese, lived to be 98 years old. She died peacefully in her sleep, no heart attack, stroke, diabetes or anything else the doctors could label. She must have weighed 300 pounds or more but as far as I can remember she never had with any health issues.

My grandfather, was lean and relatively active when he died in his sixties of a heart attack.

Sometimes when I try promoting exercise and healthy eating, someone will bring up a cases where supposedly fit people died young of heart attacks.

There are many factors related to good health so you can’t look at one specific condition, such as visible body fat, as the only indicator.

My obese grandmother was a very happy person with a great laugh and a loving spirit. It could be that  her attitude and her genetics overrode the life threatening effects of excess body fat.

My seemingly fit grandfather liked to drink beer. He was also a smoker for many years until he quit later in life. He was also eating the same food that made my grandmother fat.

If I could go back in time, I would still advise my grandmother to exercise and eat healthy. She lived a long life but she never left the house. I don’t have any fond memories of her coming to school plays or her taking me to the park or zoo. I don’t think she lived as full of a life as she could have. She may have been healthy from a medical standpoint, but can you really consider someone who never leaves the house as healthy?

When I attended my grandmother’s funeral, I met friends and family members I didn’t know I had.  After the funeral, we had a gathering (they called it as “mercy meal”?). It was good to talk to everyone and hear stories about my grandparents. Even though it was my grandmothers funeral and my grandfather had been dead over twenty years, most of the stories were about him. I heard so many stories about my grandfather that day and was amazed at the life he led.

While my grandmother lived much longer than my grandfather, it was my grandfather who had the fullest life.

A few days ago, our area got hit with over a foot of snow. During the storm, I spent hours outside playing in the snow with my wife and 6 year old daughter. We were a couple in our mid-forties,  sledding and having a snowball fight with a 6 year old. What an amazing life we have! That is just one example of a something we do that most people our age won’t or can’t do.

For most people, maintaining a healthy weight will increase their lifespan. For all of us, maintaining a healthy weight will increase the fullness of life.

 

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

February 8, 2014 at 10:51 am

Posted in Fitness, Life

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

