Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

How To Keep Going When You Aren’t Feeling It

leave a comment »

For the past few days, I haven’t been feeling the excitement that I usually feel as I move towards my fitness goals. I’ve hit a plateau in my strength training and my percentage of body fat is so low that progress in that area is not perceptible. In other words, I’m in the best position to take it to the next level.

I’m at the point where most people give up. I know that moving forward when I’m not feeling it, is what success is all about. When I look at myself in the mirror, it’s obvious that I’ve achieved a level of fitness higher than most men in their 40’s. In my current circle of family and friends I’m at the top of the fitness curve even when I factor in the younger members.

The thing that keeps me going is that I know I can do better and I want to do better. The standards of the community are not as important as my standards for myself. It would be easy to take it easy knowing that I can be proud of what I’ve accomplished, but that’s not the path I’ve chosen.

I’m not a competitive bodybuilder or fitness model. I have little extrinsic motivation to push myself beyond what is needed for general fitness and health.  But I know if I stop pushing forward when I have more to give, I’ll be disappointed. I’ll always wonder what I could have achieved.

When you are not feeling it, know that you are at the point of greatest potential. This is the beginning of your journey, not the end. If you get past this slump, you will have achieved something beyond your usual limits. Once you do that, you will question other limits you think you have.

I know this because I’ve gone past other self-imposed limits before. I remember feeling like I was done and that I couldn’t possibly move forward, but I kept going anyway and found I was just getting started. The first time I did that, it was a life changing experience and made me question the limits of what I could achieve.

When you  aren’t feeling that the excitement and passion that got you started, this is when you must lean into it and embrace the challenge of getting past it. Once you do, you’ll find a new and deeper level of passion and determination that will drive you even further towards your goals.

 

 

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

March 11, 2014 at 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

