Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

Obvious Tips About Fitness

leave a comment »

If I read another fitness article telling me to drink water to help lose weight and get fit, I’m going to scream. We get it already – drink plenty of water.

Do you ever get the feeling that there are a limited number of fitness articles that could be written and writers are just putting their spin on the same things we’ve all heard before (myself included)? There may be some people out there that still don’t know the basics, but I’d estimate that about 98% of people interested in fitness already know what they need. I also believe the fitness writers know that we know what advice they are going to provide.

Despite how repetitive it is to get the same techniques and tips over and over again, I will still keep searching for advice. Fact is, to truly know something, we have to be told repeatedly and by several different sources. It was only last year, and only after doing some experimenting myself, that I finally started to truly believe that reducing carb intake was helpful to lose weight. I’m a born skeptic so I need plenty of evidence before I believe something.

  • Here’s a short list of obvious tips about fitness:
  • Drink plenty of water
  • Get plenty of exercise – 5 times per week for 40 minutes or more
  • Get plenty of rest
  • Keep a food diary
  • Weight loss is 90% diet but you need exercise to help keep it off
  • Vary the intensity of your cardio workouts
  • Do strength training at least 3 times a week
  • Do both strength training and cardio
  • Eat plenty of vegetables
  • Avoid sugar as much as you can
  • Fruit contains sugar but can still be healthy in moderate amounts
  • Don’t drink fruit juice, eat whole fruit instead
  • Processed meats are bad for you (I’m looking at you salami)
  • White bread is bad for you
  • Whole wheat bread is better than white bread but still high in carbs
  • Eat foods high in fiber
  • Don’t eat while watching a show or movie or reading a book
  • Eat less later in the day

I’m sure I’m missing quite a few but I got other stuff to do so I’ll leave it at that.

 

 

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

March 31, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Leave a Reply

