Life / Can Do

Helpful tips to living a better life

Don’t Always Trust Your Gut

leave a comment »

There were times in my life that following my gut instinct reaped huge rewards. Unfortunately, there were also times when my gut steered me wrong. In general, when I don’t have enough information to make a knowledgeable decision, I go with my gut.

When it comes to diet and exercise, my gut is unreliable. It’s trying to lead me to the path of least pain and discomfort. When I’m pushing myself during my workout, it is telling me to stop. With food, it tries to steer me to the most calorie dense and tasty meals. When I’m having a high-fat, high carb burger from a fast food restaurant, it “feels” right even though I know it is bad for me.

When I’ve had a hard day at work, it is telling me to take it easy and relax when I know I need to exercise. I have to ignore the impulse and just start my workout.

In the animal kingdom, impulse drives action. If an animal has the urge to do something, it does it. As humans, we have the ability to choose whether or not we will obey the urge and decide to do another action based on what we know is best for us in the long term. Most people only choose to suppress their urges when there is strong social pressure to do so and sometimes not even then. They just follow along with what most other people are doing.

The truly civilized person, will consider every action and try to do what they know is best regardless of urges or social pressure.

Written by Tim ThinkAuthor

April 18, 2014 at 11:31 am

Leave a Reply

